i have a very specific memory of drafting the cards for a super wacky mtg interaction like "oh this is going to be DISGUSTING if i pull it off" but it ended up never coming up
and then when i got home i was talking to a friend and i found out the rules don't work that way, whoops
would have been an embarassing judge call
i had a card that dealt some amount of damage distributed however i please to "any number of targets"
i thought i was allowed to target their creature i needed dead and all my creatures with "when ~ becomes the target of a spell or ability" triggers, and then just distribute all the damage to their creature
it turns out you have to deal at least one damage to every target